ScubaAddict.com

Scuba Gear Reviews

Scuba Gear Reviews and News

 

 

Gear Review
Henderson H2 Hyperstretch Titanium Wetsuit Review | Gear Review

Henderson H2 Hyperstretch Titanium Wetsuit Review

Views: 1010 | Date: Mar 03, 2015Author: Addict

Henderson H2 Hyperstretch ReviewMy wife has been diving for 9 years and she has been using the same SeaQuest 5/3/5 wetsuit the entire time, so I figured it was time we got her a new one.  When the salesperson at our LDS (A1 Scuba in Colorado) suggested the Henderson H2 Hyperstretch Titanium 5mm as being the "Caddilac of wetsuits", we figured we would splurge and spend the several hundred dollars to get the best for our upcoming trip to Indonesia in July of 2010. 

After 7 days of diving in Indonesia, we returned to Denver and hung the suit in the closet.  We should have carefully examined the suit at this time, but we didn't.

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Gear Review
RECALL: Uwatec 1995 Aladin Air X NitrOx Dive Computers | Gear Review

RECALL: Uwatec 1995 Aladin Air X NitrOx Dive Computers

Views: 3776 | Date: Feb 28, 2005Author: Addict

WASHINGTON, D.C. - In cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), UWATEC AG, of Hallwil, Switzerland, is voluntarily recalling about 390 dive computers manufactured in 1995 and sold under the model name Aladin Air X NitrOx . Software in the dive computers may inaccurately calculate desaturation times, resulting in possible decompression sickness under aggressive dive conditions.

UWATEC AG has received five reports of decompression sickness allegedly associated with the use of the 1995 dive computers.

This recall involves Aladin Air X NitrOx dive computers manufactured in 1995. The manufacture date is located on the back of the dive computer, in the lower right hand corner. The date code reads the number of the month followed by a decimal point and the year, for example, "01.95." The dive computers are blue and black with the words "Aladin" and "NitrOx" printed across the front. Aladin Air X NitrOx dive computers with date codes other than "95" are not included in this recall.

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Gear Review
RECALL: Cressi-Sub BC's | Gear Review

RECALL: Cressi-Sub BC's

Views: 3600 | Date: Feb 28, 2005Author: Addict

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission announces the following recall in voluntary cooperation with the firm below. Consumers should stop using recalled products immediately unless otherwise instructed.

Name of product: Cressi-sub Buoyancy Compensators

Units: About 1,000

Distributor: Cressi-sub USA, of Westwood, N.J.

Manufacturer: Cressi-sub S.p.A., of Genoa, Italy.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Gear Review
RECALL: Dacor Darwin Computers | Gear Review

RECALL: Dacor Darwin Computers

Views: 3683 | Date: Feb 23, 2005Author: Addict

CPSC, Head USA Inc. Announce Recall of SCUBA Diving Computers
WASHINGTON, D.C. - The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission announces the following recall in voluntary cooperation with the firm below. Consumers should stop using recalled products immediately unless otherwise instructed.

Name of product: SCUBA Diving Computers

Units: 181

Distributor: Head USA Inc., of Norwalk, Conn.

Hazard: The dive computers were improperly calibrated, resulting in incorrect calculations. Diving with an improperly calibrated dive computer can provide inaccurate "No Decompression (no stop) Time," "Decompression Time," "Desaturation Time" and "No Fly Time." This could result in divers suffering serious injuries, including decompression sickness.

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Gear Review
Swatch Watch - 'Scuba Fun' | Gear Review

Swatch Watch - 'Scuba Fun'

Views: 4945 | Date: Sep 09, 2004Author: Addict

It appears that Swatch is 'getting their feet wet' in the diving industry. They have come out with a new watch, depth rated to 40 meters, and will provide you with a depth guage, and dive profile recording of up to 90 minutes.

Once the watch is submerged to a depth of 1 meter, the hour hand becomes the depth meter, and the minute hand is dive time. The watch records your profile for playback after the dive.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Gear Review
RECALL Halcyon BC | Gear Review

RECALL Halcyon BC

Views: 3132 | Date: Sep 07, 2004Author: Addict

Infozine.com, Sept 3, 2004 - "Hazard: The SCUBA BC bladder can have a slow leak because of imperfections within the machining of the stainless air barrel of their inflators. This can cause unexpected buoyancy problems with divers, possibly resulting in decompression sickness.

Incidents/Injuries: Halcyon has reports of 10 incidents of BCs leaking. No injuries or deaths have been reported."

Link: Halcyon Manufacturing Recall SCUBA BC Inflators

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Gear Review
RECALL: Oceanic & AERIS BC inflators | Gear Review

RECALL: Oceanic & AERIS BC inflators

Views: 2751 | Date: Sep 07, 2004Author: Addict

Infozine.com, Sept. 4, 2004 - "Hazard: The Power Inflator Buttons can stick, which can cause uncontrolled inflation of the BC. This could cause divers to ascend too fast, resulting in decompression sickness as well as the danger of an embolism."

Link: Pelagic Pressure Systems Recall SCUBA BC Inflators

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


 

Privacy Policy

You have to register before you can post on our forums or use our advanced features.