ScubaAddict.com

Dive Op Reviews

Which Dive Operations Are The Best? Look Through Our Reviews...

 

 

Dive Op Review
Karachi Scuba Diving Center | Dive Op Review

Karachi Scuba Diving Center

Views: 3273 | Date: Jan 24, 2011Author: smartreader

Karachi Scuba diving Center is one of two diving operations in the port city of Karachi, Pakistan. During my 7 day visit to the city I chose to dive with them - though the choice to do so was purely by chance and circumstance. Nonetheless, my overall impression of this PADI certified diving operation was good as compared to my experiences elsewhere.

LOCATION: The dive shop is not easy to find. If you are planning to make your way down to the shop by yourself, good luck! This is certainly not the fault of the operators - as finding any business establishment in Karachi is a challenge for any non local. Nonetheless, with some searching - and the help of the the dive site owners, we found our way. The dive shop is located in the DHA (defense housing authority) - a relatively safe part of Karachi.  Unfortunately, their business office and equipment locker is located away from the sea shore/beach. However, they arrange transport from the office to their diving location AND back again, which is nice, as not all dive shop operators do this.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Turks & Caicos Explorer II | Dive Op Review

Turks & Caicos Explorer II

Views: 3189 | Date: Dec 19, 2010Author: jkotovsky

My wife and I were on the Turks & Caicos Explorer II from 11/27/10 through 12/4/10. This was our first liveaboard experience, but it will probably be our last one. I thought that the boat was nicely designed and functionally laid out. We stayed in State Room #2. The cabin was large enough for storage with a desk, beds were comfortable to sleep in, and the ensuite bathroom was adequate. The service from the crew while on board was good in serving meals and servicing our room. The highlight of the trip was the chef Stan.  His meals were wonderful.

The diving started out very good, but by the end of the week, I thought the diving was mediocre at best because of the poor visibility, In addition, the in water service of the divemasters left a lot to be desired.  The crew was hindered halfway through the trip by a divemaster becoming bent and having to leave the boat because of needing to be treated by a decompression chamber. We lost one dive because of transporting the divemaster to port and no substitute divemaster replaced the person. So there were between 2 and 3 dives everyday that no divemaster was in the water with a group of 21 divers. I counted a total of 6 dives without a divemaster in the water.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Liquid Adventures in Tofo, Mozambique | Dive Op Review

Liquid Adventures in Tofo, Mozambique

Views: 2961 | Date: Nov 04, 2010Author: utterly

This is the 9th dive trip i've been on (also to The Red Sea - twice, Thailand, Indonesia, The Caribbean, The Galapagos, Maldives, and Kenya) so I think it's saying a lot! In each case myself and one to 10 friends have gone to a dive centre in a great location and done at least five dives each. This time, myself and 5 friends dived with Liquid Adventures in March of this year (2010). We had an incredible time, so I felt compelled to write this article.

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Virtus Cruising Liveaboard Review | Dive Op Review

Virtus Cruising Liveaboard Review

Views: 3944 | Date: May 31, 2010Author: Addict

Virtus Cruising is a brand new liveaboard diving operation in Bali, Indonesia.  Diving the islands: Bali, Komodo, Rinca, Sumbawa, Lombok, Sulawesi, Papua and more.

Trip scheduled late June - mid July, 2010.  Review Coming Soon!

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Aquatrek Fiji (Taveuni) | Dive Op Review

Aquatrek Fiji (Taveuni)

Views: 3671 | Date: Jun 19, 2007Author: Addict

Taveuni ReefAquatrek is who we called and booked our entire trip through.  This made things very easy - and we got a great deal, but there were also a couple of hiccups.

When we arrived at the Nadi airport, we found that Air Pacific had failed to get our luggage to Fiji - we then had to hop on a small prop plane run by Fiji Air to get to Taveuni, which has to have the absolute worst customer service I have ever seen for an airline (story for another time).

Our scuba vacation started on the island of Taveuni at the Garden Island Resort (that review is here).  Aquatrek dive shop is located on the resort grounds, and very convenient.  We were very happy to find that the dive shop would provide us rental gear at no charge until our luggage made it over from the States.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Dive House COZUMEL | Dive Op Review

Dive House COZUMEL

Views: 3734 | Date: Jul 26, 2006Author: mcm007

Dive house was very well run. We did 13 dives in 4 days. Never the same site twice. Ask your DM to take you to Palancar and Columbia Deep, Paradise is too shallow and not much to see.

Tormentos is another good reef.

If you do not tell the dm's where you want to go, they will take you to the closest reef to the hotel, so they can get back quickly. SO make sure to ask them where YOU want to go.

Make sure and reserve your trip to punta sur, the signature dive of cozumel. It is 10 dollars more but well worth it. Also, they have 100 cu ft tanks available to those air hogs out there for 6 bucks more. The night dive was cool..

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
NEKTON BELIZE ~ March 12-19th 2005 | Dive Op Review

NEKTON BELIZE ~ March 12-19th 2005

Views: 3660 | Date: Apr 21, 2005Author: mcm007

I have been diving for over 10 years. This was my first "liveaboard" trip. I was very exited. I was going with a good buddy Divemaster named "Larry" and his "instructor" Buddy named Joe.

Continental offers a direct flight for me from Newark to Belize and even though we were 1/2 hr late departing, we quickly made it up in the air. Customs was a breeze entering.

We waited for the van for Nekton to pick us up and were met by Jeff, a young college student aged lad. Alex, the driver, picked up our bags and kept us company while we wated for the next plane to arrive an hour later... Not very cool , considering it was 90 + degrees out... SO I waited in the van..Nice and cool in there. They weren't making multiple runs to the airport as Gas prices were recently hiked.

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Dive Safaris (Dive Op Review) : St. Maarten | Dive Op Review

Dive Safaris (Dive Op Review) : St. Maarten

Views: 4901 | Date: Apr 12, 2005Author: Stevs

Dive Op Name: Dive Safaris
Address: Bobby's Marina, Philipsburg, St. Maarten, NA.
Phone: 011-599-545-3213
Email: divesafaris@caribserve.net
Website: http://www.diveguideint.com/divesafaris
http://www.thescubashop.net
http://www.divestmaarten.com

Staff Rating: 8.5/10
They, like most modern dive shops hire divemasters from around the world. They all seamed excited about diving and tried to be as courteous and accommodating as possible
They do a lot of cruise ship divers and if you don't let them know your interest they tend to point out the same eels, lobsters, stingrays and scorpion fish over and over, but they can be very helpful in helping find the stuff you are interested in (for me I'm on a macro kick). Sometimes it may be better to go out on the second boat and sometimes the first. If you are spending several days there talk to them they are very accommodating.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Lands End Dive OP: Cabo San Lucas, Mexico | Dive Op Review

Lands End Dive OP: Cabo San Lucas, Mexico

Views: 4124 | Date: Feb 03, 2005Author: mcm007

We went to Cabo San Lucas Mexico in march 2004. I had pre- booked diving with a site I had found on the internet. However, when I arrived, the phone number I was given of course did not work. I went to the concierge and had them call him . The office phone was disconnected and the mobile # was a voicemail, who by the way never called me back.

So what was I to do? I needed to dive!

I went with the concierge's recommendation and was very, very happy with Land's End Divers.

http://www.mexonline.com/landsend.htm

I am happy to see that someone else here on the board recommends them. My Divemaster's name was Chalo. An unforgettable character who I would dive with any day. He went very out of his way to make sure I had a great time. I did about 6 dives and each one different. From Pelican Rock to Neptunes Finger. We dove Lover's Beach and Land's End. Pelican Rock and Neptune's finger are multiple dives and you'll not see the same fish twice. We also saw the Sand Falls, very nice. I was disappointed by lack of Sharks though. The marine life was abundant, with Pufferfish, Grunts, Squirrlefish, Parrotfish and Grouper.

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Nekton Rorqual / Southern Belize | Dive Op Review

Nekton Rorqual / Southern Belize

Views: 4307 | Date: Nov 24, 2004Author: JRO

Overall rating: 7

Dive Operation Name: Nekton Rorqual (Liveaboard: Southern Belize Itinerary)
Address: Belize
Phone: (800) 899-6753
Website: Nekton Diving Cruises

Type: Liveaboard

Cost: (per dive/or package + days) $1500 (+$100 for Nitrox which was later refunded) / 25 dives

Staff: 8/10
Were they organized? Yes
Did they have a method for accounting for your presence on the boat? Yes (sign in board)
Were they knowledgeable about the area? Fairly, the boat did a last minute change with the Pilot and the crew had only made one or two runs through the area.
Did they point out underwater life? Yes
Were they Friendly/Personable? Definitely
Were they interested in helping you have a good time? Yes
Did you feel safe? Always

Read more...

[ 1 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Anthony's Key Resort (Dive Op) : Roatan, Honduras | Dive Op Review

Anthony's Key Resort (Dive Op) : Roatan, Honduras

Views: 5773 | Date: Oct 30, 2004Author: Addict

Anthony's Key Resort is an all inclusive resort that includes accomodations, meals and diving. It is located on Roatan, one of the Bay Islands, just off the coast of Honduras in Central America. Because this resort is all-inclusive, I will be providing 2 Undercover Diver reports. This one covers the diving Facilities. The other report will include information on the room, meals and service provided by the resort.

Overall Rating: 8/10

Dive Operation Name: Anthony's Key Resort
Address: Sandy Bay, Roatan, Honduras (Bay Islands)
Phone: 800.227.3483 (Reservations)
Email: akr@anthonyskey.com
Website: http://www.anthonyskey.com

Type: Standard Dive Operation
Cost: $825 for room, diving (3 dives per day + 2 night dives + unlimited shore dives), 3 meals a day

Staff: 9/10
Were they organized? Yes
Did they have a method for accounting for your presence on the boat? No - no on board method that I was aware of.
Were they knowledgeable about the area? Yes
Did they point out underwater life? Yes
Were they Friendly/Personable? Yes
Were they interested in helping you have a good time? Yes
Did you feel safe? Yes
Comments on staff: Aside from them being not quite as outgoingly nice as the AKR 'hotel' staff - they were still very friendly.

Read more...

[ 0 Comment(s) ]


Dive Op Review
Blue Angel Dive Shop - Cozumel, Mexico | Dive Op Review

Blue Angel Dive Shop - Cozumel, Mexico

Views: 5423 | Date: Oct 03, 2004Author: ScubaChick

OVERALL RATING: 7
After doing some research on the Internet prior to our trip, we decided to go diving with Blue Angel, versus the dive operation at our resort. The biggest factor in this decision was price. Blue Angel was cheaper and would still come pick us up on the Fiesta Americana dock. When making your arrangements, be sure to mention that you are looking for a package deal. When we went to pay our bill, we discovered that they had changed their quoted price. My advice... print any email communications you have with the company.

Read more...

[ 2 Comment(s) ]


 

Privacy Policy

You have to register before you can post on our forums or use our advanced features.